You are here:


The Appraisal Institute Education and Relief Foundation recognizes individuals that make significant contribution to the valuation profession. Winners are recognized at the AI Annual Conference.

The Appraisal Institute Education and Relief Foundation wishes
to congratulate the 2019 honorees:

  • Y.T. and Louise Lee Lum Award
    Robert L. Moorman, MAI, SRA, AI-GRS Brenham, TX
  • George L. Schmutz Award
    Mark R. Ratterman, MAI, SRA Indianapolis, IN
  • Dr. William N. Kinnard, Jr. Award
    Leslie P. Sellers, MAI, SRA, AI-GRS Clinton, TN
  • James H. Pritchett Award
    Stephen F. Fanning, MAI, AI-GRS Denton, TX
  • Armstrong/Kahn Award
    Dennis A. Webb, MAI Denver, CO –
    “Using the Income Approach for Minority Interests”
    The Appraisal Journal Spring 2018
  • Swango Award
    Michael V. Sanders, MAI, SRA Los Alamitos, CA,
    The Appraisal Journal Summer 2018
  • Richard U. Ratcliff Award
    Thomas O. Jackson, PhD, MAI, College Station, TX and Chris Yost-Bremm, PhD San Francisco, CA
    The Appraisal Journal Winter 2018

The Y.T. and Louise Lee Lum Award was established in 1963 and honors Y.T. Lum, a prominent member of the American Institute of Real Estate Appraisers, an internationally known speaker and authority on real estate, and his wife, Louise Lee.

The purpose of the Y.T. and Louise Lee Lum Award is to recognize one or more worthy individuals who have made a distinguished contribution* to the appraisal profession during the immediate preceding year. The Y.T. and Louise Lee Lum Award is open to both Appraisal Institute individuals, as well as those that do not belong to the Appraisal Institute. The Y.T. and Louise Lee Lum Award is given in recognition of and great appreciation for the distinguished contribution to the furtherance of the high ideals of the profession of real estate appraising and practices, mindful of the fact that this contribution was possible only through the zeal, uprightness, sacrifice, devotion, acumen and ability of the contributor.

Lum Award Requirements:

  • Please provide a letter of recommendation
  • A resume of the nominee; and
  • Brief biography of the nominee

Please submit all documents to by Friday, March 27.

The selection of the recipient is made by the AIERF Directors and will be announced at the Annual Conference.

The recipient of the Y.T. and Louise Lee Lum Award will receive $1,000.

View a list of previous winners.

The George L. Schmutz Award was established in 1959 by the American Institute of Real Estate Appraisers “to recognize an outstanding technical manuscript or publication on real estate valuation regardless of the author’s occupation, affiliation or publisher.”

The award recipient is recommended by the Appraisal Institute Publications Review Panel to the AIERF Directors for approval.

The award recipient receives an honorarium of $1,000.

View a list of previous winners

The Dr. William N. Kinnard, Jr. Award was established by SREA to honor Dr. William N. Kinnard, Jr.

The purpose of this award is to recognize professionalism in education by a worthy academic instructor or administrator, or an individual or a program that contributed to the education, knowledge, professionalism or development of the real estate appraisal field.

The recipient is determined by the AIERF Directors. Nominations are received from the Education Committee and the AI education staff. The Dr. William N. Kinnard, Jr. Award recipient will receive a $1,000 honorarium.

View a list of previous winners.

The James H. Pritchett Award was created in 2002, in memory of the late James Pritchett. The Pritchett Award recognizes a Designated member of the Appraisal Institute for outstanding contributions to appraisal education or mentoring with a focus on litigation and condemnation. The ideal candidate is someone similar to Mr. Pritchett: displays leadership, integrity, and exceptional work in teaching, writing, mentoring and professional practice in litigation support and eminent domain.

View the list of past winners.

The Appraisal Journal’s Armstrong/Kahn Award is part of a long tradition of article awards.

The Robert H. Armstrong Award was first presented in 1963. It was named for Robert H. Armstrong, MAI, who served as Editor-in-Chief and Managing Editor of The Appraisal Journal from 1945–1955. The award was given each year for the best original article published in The Appraisal Journal’s.

Sanders A. Kahn, PhD, SREA, served as Chair of The Real Estate Appraiser & Analyst (TREA) subcommittee in 1980–1981 and 1984–1985. In 1984, he established an annual manuscript prize to honor the author who developed the best example of thought-provoking presentation on concepts and practical problems facing the appraisal and real estate industries. This manuscript competition was underwritten by the Society of Real Estate Appraisers (SREA) Foundation (later renamed the Society of Real Estate Appraisers Education Trust).

The Appraisal Journal carried on this TREA tradition when it began presenting the Sanders A. Kahn Award in 1993 for articles offering a thought-provoking look at practical problems. In 1997, the Armstrong Award and the Kahn Award were combined to become the Armstrong/Kahn Award. The Appraisal Institute Education Trust funds the monetary prize for the Armstrong/Kahn award.

The Swango Award is named for past The Appraisal Journal Editor-in-Chief, Dan L. Swango, PhD, MAI, SRA.

The Swango Award is presented for the best original article published in The Appraisal Journal during the previous year on residential or general appraising, or technology-related topics, or for original research of benefit to real estate analysts and valuers. The article must be practical in nature and address issues useful to appraisers in their day-to-day practice. Articles eligible for this award must be written by appraisal practitioners, i.e., individuals who perform real estate appraisals as their primary profession.

The Richard U. Ratcliff Award was created in 2008 to recognize the important relationship between academics and valuation professionals in the development of valuation thought.

The Richard U. Ratcliff Award is presented annually for the best original article published in The Appraisal Journal written by an academic author. Articles are judged on the basis of pertinent appraisal interest, provocative thought, logical analysis, perceptive reasoning, clarity of presentation, and overall contribution to the literature of valuation. To be eligible for this award, an article must have been peer reviewed by members of The Appraisal Journal’s Academic Review Panel and the principal author must be primarily engaged in teaching at a college or university.